[]
[]
Broken Arrow Library will be closed Oct. 27-Dec. 7 for library improvements.
If your phone or email notification preference has changed, please log in at http://opac.tulsalibrary.org/patroninfo and click “Modify Info” to update your account.

Wife 22

Gideon, Melanie (Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Wife 22
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

For fans of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life. Maybe it was those extra five pounds I'd gained.nbsp;Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her.nbsp;Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other. nbsp; But when the anonymous online study called "Marriage in the 21st Century" showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn't long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101). nbsp; And, just like that, I found myself answering questions. nbsp; 7. Sometimes I tell him he's snoring when he's not snoring so he'll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself. 61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man's children. 67. To not want what you don't have. What you can't have. What you shouldn't have. 32. That if we weren't careful, it was possible to forget one another. nbsp; Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor's appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions. nbsp; But these days, I'm also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I'll have to make a decision--one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I'm too busy answering questions. nbsp; As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
Authors: Gideon, Melanie, 1963-
Title: Wife 22
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 380 p. ; 25 cm
Alternate Title: Wife twenty-two
ISBN: 9780345527950
034552795X
9780345527967
0345527968
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Statement of Responsibility: Melanie Gideon
Subject Headings: Middle-aged women Fiction Working mothers Fiction Wives Research Fiction Surveys Fiction
Genre/Form: Psychological fiction
Domestic fiction
Topical Term: Middle-aged women
Working mothers
Wives
Surveys
LCCN: 2012004405
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

fun quick read; captures our culture..look forward to a new story by this author.

Mar 16, 2014
  • JennaDLibrarian rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

A sweet romantic comedy about rediscovering love long after your 'happily ever after'. Think 'You've Got Mail' with a couple that is already married.

Refreshing take on a marriage survey. Enjoyed reading.

Feb 28, 2013
  • gymgurl rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

If you like chick lit you will find this funny and clever.

Sep 04, 2012
  • rahoward rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Predictable, but in a thoroughly enjoyable and charming way! Great "light" read.

was predictable, but cute! Agreed that it would be a good book club choice.

Jul 16, 2012
  • dprodrig rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I enjoyed reading this book, although, I have seen this plot premise in a variety of different formats, where the husband is either hoping to connect or is testing his relationship with his wife. Not everyone will like the format, but the questions are interesting and the format of the book is unique, with each chapter prefaced by the answers of the questions. Coupled with the real life issues that crop up, parent - child relationships, job losses, friendships strained and regained, for me, it was worth the read.

Jul 12, 2012
  • corona_kitty rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Made me laugh out loud, loved this book!

Loved this book. Perfect for book clubs because it offers alot of discussion material. It is funny and thought provoking with an ending that will surprise you.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

As a woman approaches the age that her mother passed away, she questions her life as a mother and wife. She agrees to participate in a survey of married woman and further examines her life and marriage.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app06 Version Borgsjo Last updated 2014/10/29 13:43