[]
[]
If your phone or email notification preference has changed, please log in at http://opac.tulsalibrary.org/patroninfo and click “Modify Info” to update your account.

The Light Between Oceans

Stedman, M. L.

(Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Light Between Oceans
Print
"A novel set on a remote Australian island, where a childless couple live quietly running a lighthouse, until a boat carrying a baby washes ashore"--
Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2012
Edition: 1st Scribner hardcover ed
ISBN: 1451681739
9781451681734
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: 345 p. : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Dec 12, 2014
  • Ravenpicks13 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book is a good read. The book takes some turns in it that I did question. I also wondered if it was against adoption, but the ending was very well written. I do think it was a sad book. I think that it will move you with emotion and you will remember it, long after reading it.

Nov 26, 2014
  • ontherideau rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

A strong interesting start. Recommend for readers of Nicholas Sparks or Jodi Picoult

Nov 12, 2014
  • rdw39 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept my interest from beginning to end. Tom & Isabel are depictions of a couple whose ethical decision seemed very real, and as a reader, you could empathize with both in the decisions they must make. The Australian setting on an island where they tend a Lighthouse adds to the background of this well written novel.

This story is about the perception and distortion of (perceived) true love and loyalty. Even though the reader is aware that immediate decisions are "just not right," there's no way to warn or stop the characters because most of us empathize with trying to create happiness here and now and not consider the repercussions and cost

Oct 26, 2014
  • athompson10 rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

DEFINITELY an Oprah Book Club-type book. Sappy and a bit overwrought.

What happens when two people who love each other immensely are torn apart by conflicting ethics? Thought-provoking, intense, and thoroughly engrossing.

Oct 15, 2014
  • Aandrews19 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Captivating and haunting novel about our capacity for love and the toll of war. I was consumed by the story from the first page.

Oct 03, 2014
  • leebaker rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I LOVED this book! Gripping story, and fascinating descriptions of what a lighthouse keeper actually does (or, did). The plot has some mystery, suspense, and emotional highs and lows that can keep one compelled to read to the end.

Sep 29, 2014
  • d2013 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

This story definitely makes you question and think. A tad long but still a great read.

A patron review from the Adult Summer Reading Game: "Post First World War, Tom seeks isolation with his new bride on a remote island off the coast of Australia in his job as a lighthouse keeper. They struggle unsuccessfully to have a child until finding a boat with a young baby. A deeply moving book about the choices we make and the consequences to live with."

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

Nov 03, 2012
  • becker rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

“You only have to forgive once. To resent, you have to do it all day, every day.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app11 Version Hasselnot Last updated 2014/12/22 14:47