The Nobel Prize Winners

The Nobel Prize Winners


Book - 1989
Rate this:
Comprehensive coverage of winners, arranged chronologically, beginning with Wilhelm Roentgen (1901), ending with Leon M. Lederman, Melvin Schwartz, and Jack Steinberger, the winners in 1988. To provide readers with some historical perspective, articles are preceded by a listing of the winners in the other disciplines (literature, chemistry, medicine, peace, economic sciences) for the same year. A photograph of th laureate appears at the beginning of each article. A brief description of the individual's impact on physics and why he or she won the award appears in italics. The text of each essay (average 3,500 words) gives a synopsis of the speech delivered by the award's presenter, an overview of the laureate's address describing the prize winning work, a survey of the popular and professional responses to the Academy's choice, a biography sketching major events of the laureate's life, and, in roughly one-third to one-half of the article, an account of the laureate's professional life, highlighting important research, experiments, and publications. A primary bibliography lists the laureates' principal works, by genre, through 1988; the secondary bibliography lists works about each laureate and is annotated, providing readers with criteria for choosing sources for further study. A splendid reference work. Annotation(c) 2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (
Publisher: Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1989
ISBN: 9780893565572
Branch Call Number: 530.079 N664 1989
Characteristics: 3 v. (xl, 1364, xix p.) : ports. ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at TCCL

To Top