The King of Attolia

The King of Attolia

Attolia Series, Book 3

eBook - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
9
Discover the world of the Queen's ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can't get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. School Library Journal Best BookHorn Book FanfareALA Top 10 Best Book for Young AdultsNew York Public Library Books for the Teen Age"The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows"One of the most fascinating and original children's fantasies to appear in years. . . . Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner's Thief."—The Horn Book (starred review)"A winner."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever."—School Library Journal (starred review)
Publisher: 2009
ISBN: 9780061968433
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Beatricksy Dec 12, 2017

This book is near perfection. I just want to throw it at people's heads and make them read it. I almost want to throw it at people's heads regardless of if they've read the previous two books, but you should read the first two, truly, as they're excellent. Having the majority of the book from a new, unrelated character's perspective is refreshing, and it keepsthe readers on their toes. I have emotional whiplash from laughing and wanting to cry in fast succession. I love that this is Greek and Roman in theme. It's such a unique twist on the usual fantasy tropes. The characters are allowed to breathe and be, developing slowly both on and off camera. It's very natural, very believable. The political angles are great fun, and just all around I'm so happy. I'm screaming. Just. AAAAAAH. Go to bed, Gen.

n
nidofito
Mar 27, 2016

The King of Attolia is another masterfully spun tale by Turner, this time in Attolia's capital city instead of Eddis, and in a supposedly time of peace rather than war. The focus of the story is shifted here with new characters, looking on at Gen as he resists and ultimately accepts his new role. Though I love the intricacy of the story, and how it's always the simple things that come back to tie everything off, somehow the story didn't seem as focused as its predecessor, nor as intense.

s
Stormtrooper55
Dec 28, 2015

amazing! self vs self, and man vs. man, i've read this book so many times, which is pretty rare. the court setting is realistic, and it's heartwarming to watch Costis come to respect and care for Eugenides. some characters are predictable, but theres a lot of going back and piercing together.
I loved this book! the chapters are pretty long though. Turner keeps me on my toes

t
Topaz7
Jun 14, 2014

This book is what the previous two novels have been building up towards--a well balanced mix of brilliant dialogue, cutthroat politics, and character exploration. I thoroughly recommend.

j
julia_sedai
Feb 24, 2014

Megan Whalen Turner does such a great job in this book! She shows us the characters of Eugenides and the Queen through a different character, Costis, which is a great technique. There is so much going on even though it doesn't seem like it. This book was a great continuation of the series and I am excited to read the next one. I definitely recommend it to young adults and adults.

a
AaronKerry
Dec 14, 2012

Not often do you find books in the YA genre that are written so cleverly and so well. And the next book in the series is even better!

j
JackieHyde
Aug 17, 2012

A brilliant examination of its titular character, Eugenides, and his struggle to be acknowledged as king. Turner keeps the plot moving with more political intrigue and romance. Highly recommended to adults.

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

I wasn't thrilled with the plot of the second book in the series and this third one follows closely on its heels, but still, there's a lot to like in this tale of political intrigue in the royal palace with a resourceful but reluctant king.

l
LGClair
Jul 09, 2011

I thought the Thief was great, and the Queen of Attolia was amazing, but this is just brilliant. It's an exploration of human nature, with the most interesting romantic pair you'll ever read about. And I love Eugenides. I doubt there's many female readers who haven't had their hearts stolen by him.

graphiste Jun 22, 2011

This trilogy (Thief, the Queen of Attolia, the King of Attolia) is one of the most compelling love stories I have ever read. Not sure what this series is doing in the children's literature section; it should be read by anyone who appreciates a brilliantly constructed fantasy.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

j
jhale7
Jun 26, 2016

"No 'glory shall be your reward' for me. No it's 'stop whining' and 'go to bed'

r
Robin_Hood13
Jan 12, 2012

I meant "You are incorrigible."

r
Robin_Hood13
Jan 04, 2012

"You are irrefragible."
"Yes, and I have a headache and I want a bath."

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

He's funny. . . . He can make you laugh so hard it hurts. . . . But underneath the jokes and the gibes and the playacting, there's nothing there but . . . spite. There isn't anything he won't laugh at.

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

As a ten-year-old boy, the Thief of Eddis could stop a grown man in his tracks with a single look. Where had that look gone?

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

I am so sick of people who all seem to be smarter than I am and know more than I do. I want to go back to the farm. These people make my family look easy to get along with.

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

Costis believed in his gods, prayed to his gods, and sacrificed to his gods, but Eugenides was rumored not only to believe in his gods but also to speak to them and to hear them answer. The idea made Costis uncomfortable. The gods may have walked the earth in the time of the legends, but he preferred to think of them safely on their altars.

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

O Goddess . . . I have brought you the most precious silver in my city. The silver leaves of the olive. . . . Please, Goddess, make me a good leader for my people. Let me bring them peace, and I swear I will cover the hills around the city with silver, in your honor. Everywhere the moon shines around the city it will strike the silver leaves of the olive, I promise.

a
andreareads
Oct 26, 2011

He has had very little company in his life, and he isn't used to it. But there are other words for _privacy_ and _independence_. They are _isolation_ and _loneliness_.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
TCCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top