The Professor of Secrets

The Professor of Secrets

Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance--in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy--through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.
Publisher: Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2010
ISBN: 9781426206504
Branch Call Number: 610.92 F511e 2010
Characteristics: 368 p. : ill. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jlaukes
Jan 24, 2015

in the film words of Michael Vallon, "We're deep thinkers."

d
d21221
Jun 01, 2011

Might be interesting for someone in the medical field wanting the history of diseases but as for a story this account is way too tedious and not that engaging. I would skip it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top