Music for Silenced Voices

Music for Silenced Voices

Shostakovich and His Fifteen Quartets

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Most previous books about Dmitri Shostakovich have focused on either his symphonies and operas, or his relationship to the regime under which he lived, or both, since these large-scale works were the ones that attracted the interest and sometimes the condemnation of the Soviet authorities. Music for Silenced Voices looks at Shostakovich through the back door, as it were, of his fifteen quartets, the works which his widow characterized as a "diary, the story of his soul." The silences and the voices were of many kinds, including the political silencing of adventurous writers, artists, and musicians during the Stalin era; the lost voices of Shostakovich's operas (a form he abandoned just before turning to string quartets); and the death-silenced voices of his close friends, to whom he dedicated many of these chamber works.

Wendy Lesser has constructed a fascinating narrative in which the fifteen quartets, considered one at a time in chronological order, lead the reader through the personal, political, and professional events that shaped Shostakovich's singular, emblematic twentieth-century life. Weaving together interviews with the composer's friends, family, and colleagues, as well as conversations with present-day musicians who have played the quartets, Lesser sheds new light on the man and the musician. One of the very few books about Shostakovich that is aimed at a general rather than an academic audience, Music for Silenced Voices is a pleasure to read; at the same time, it is rigorously faithful to the known facts in this notoriously complicated life. It will fill readers with the desire to hear the quartets, which are among the most compelling and emotionally powerful monuments of the past century's music.

Publisher: New Haven : Yale University Press, c2011
ISBN: 9780300169331
Branch Call Number: 780.92 S559L 2011
Characteristics: xv, 350 p. ; 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Sep 03, 2014

This book is an account of the author's fascination with the quartets. It discusses the quartets in sequence embedded in an account of Shostakovich's life. It is a good read and works well as a biography for people who don't want to read a huge volume.
The discussion of the quartets however suffers from the author's refusal (or inability?) to use musical technical terms. It is not much more than a report on the authors emotional reaction to the pieces. Even easy to identify features like the passacaglia in quartet 6 are not mentioned though it accounts for the intensity of the movement.
However if it motivates you to listen to the quartets it is certainly worth it.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at TCCL

To Top