Taco USA

Taco USA

How Mexican Food Conquered America

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
The nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine's tremendous popularity in America.

Nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine's tremendous popularity in el Norte. In the tradition of Bill Buford's Heat and Calvin Trillin's The Tummy Trilogy , Arellano's fascinating narrative combines history, cultural criticism, personal anecdotes, and Jesus on a tortilla.

When salsa overtook ketchup as this country's favorite condiment in the 1990s, America's century-long love affair with Mexican food reached yet another milestone. In seemingly every decade since the 1880s, America has tried new food trends from south of the border--chili, tamales, tacos, enchiladas, tequila, bacon-wrapped hot dogs, and so many more--loved them, and demanded the next great thing. As a result, Mexican food dominates American palates to the tune of billions of dollars in sales per year, from canned refried beans to frozen margaritas and ballpark nachos. It's a little-known history, one that's crept up on this country like your Mexican neighbors--and left us better for it.

Now, Taco USA addresses the all-important questions: What exactly constitutes "Mexican" food in the United States? How did it get here? What's "authentic" and what's "Taco Bell," and does it matter? What's so cosmic about a burrito? And why do Americans love Mexican food so darn much?

Tacos, alas, sold separately.
Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2012
Edition: 1st Scribner hardcover ed
ISBN: 9781439148617
1439148619
9781439148624
Branch Call Number: 641.5972 A679t 2012
Characteristics: viii, 310 p. : ill. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Oklahoma & Latinos
HRCreads May 11, 2013

Tulsa's El Rancho Grande Restaurant's Black Wing Special featured as one of the 5 best Mexican meals in the U.S.A.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jbetzzall
Aug 09, 2012

Very well written account of the development of the "Mexican food" fast food industry. But after awhile the corporate genealogies became boring.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top