The Language of the Dead

The Language of the Dead

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In a rural Hampshire village, things have remained fairly quiet despite the war. Then an elderly loner is brutally murdered, and the method of his killing bears the hallmarks of the traditional vanquishing of a witch. A young woman who is carrying the illegitimate child of a fighter pilot also is violently killed; a local drunkard's head is bashed in. Are the cases connected? As the Germans continue their relentless attack, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer.
As the shadow of World War II descends over Europe, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer behind the veil of a seemingly charming English village.
Publisher: New York :, Pegasus Crime,, 2015
Edition: First Pegasus Books cloth edition
ISBN: 9781605986968
Branch Call Number: Mystery
Characteristics: 277 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 24, 2017

This whodunnit is perfect for fans of "FOYLES WAR" or Maureen Jennings's TOM TYLER series. A reminder - as the German bombs rained down on England - that evil of a domestic nature still existed. This novel is followed by THE WAGES OF DESIRE (2016)

Jan 18, 2016

While I appreciated the historical detail, the mystery itself was not as strong as I would have liked. Lamb was good and his fellow policemen were well-drawn and much more realistic than the usual stock characters. I'd say that this was probably too realistic to be a cozy mystery, but the historical aspect softened its realism a good bit.

Oct 03, 2015

I agree , trying too hard to be British but all in all an enjoyable if not memorable read. Author has potential.

Oct 02, 2015

If you are a fan of the British TV series Foyle's War you will really
enjoy this book. This American author was able to write an atomspheric compelling story
of the early days of WWII in
south England. I thought the character development well done. I hope Stephen Kelly turns this into a series.
A great read!

Jul 26, 2015

Just couldn't get through it. Before I knew it was written by a US author I was thinking it seemed to be trying too hard to be British. Awkward and in need of an edit for style


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at TCCL

To Top