Golden Lion

Golden Lion

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

For readers of Game of Thrones, Ken Follett, and Clive Cussler:

an epic adventure spanning land and sea...

time and distance...

courage, revenge, and everything in between.

GOLDEN LION

He saw his father executed in battle. He spent his youth avenging that death. And now Henry 'Hal' Courtney is a man with a ship - and a family - of his own.

But fate has not finished with Hal. On a voyage along the eastern shore of Africa, a powerful enemy abducts his wife, the fearless warrior Judith... and with her, Hal's unborn child. For Hal, a man all too familiar with loss, there is only one way forward: He must track his nemesis across desert and ocean, through the slave markets of Zanzibar and the dangerous waters of the coast, in pursuit of the woman he loves, the child he sired, and the glorious destiny that awaits him.

Bursting with action and suspense, heroism and heartache, this unforgettable novel proves once more that Wilbur Smith is the world's greatest adventure writer.

Publisher: New York :, William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2015]
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9780062276469
0062276468
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: 382 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Kristian, Giles - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
funkydave
May 08, 2017

I enjoyed reading this book, but not as good as some his other books. Lots of action, and a fast moving plot yet the hummf is some how missing. One of the ways i judge books is in how involved he gets me in the story and this one was good but not great. Too bad all th eelements are there.
3.4/5

z
zipread
Jan 15, 2017

I've come to be a great fan of the author, but strangely, this novel doesn't find traction with me. After a number of attempts, I haven't been able to get very far at all into this novel. Perhaps it's the setting; perhaps I'm not the swashbuckling type.
Wilbur, I'll have to take a pass on this one.
Sorry.

d
dannnn
Oct 29, 2015

Another winner. Not as good as some of Wilburs but better than his other recent stories.

p
peteb63
Oct 15, 2015

Not a bad book but his writing is becoming more like an adult boys own.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top