Gargantua and Pantagruel

Gargantua and Pantagruel

Book - 1994
Average Rating:
Rate this:

The unfettered exuberance of Gargantua and Pantagruel , the storms of phenomenal life it offers for our inspection, the honor it gives to the deformed, the cloacal, and the profane aspects of existence are at the very heart of Rabelais' genius. But the author of this fantasia on the lives of a father-and-son pair of giants was one of the most magnificent and magnificently learned products of the Renaissance; and he also represents, as well as any of its other great figures, that era's love of the human body and its exaltation of the human in the face of the divine.

(Book Jacket Status: Not Jacketed)

Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf : Distributed by Random House, c1994
ISBN: 9780679431374
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: li, 807 p. ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Sep 13, 2016

Read this in my university literature course - really great dialogic, carnivalesque text. Bakhtin writes about it.

Mar 23, 2014

It's rare to find a book that is both gleefully scatological and also highly intellectual. Written by a 16th century French monk, "Gargantua and Pantagruel" is a picaresque, satiric book that embraces and mocks everything from religion to humanism to epics. It's a huge, sprawling, baggy book that may lose some readers with its copious allusions (a better annotated edition would be nice), but will win them over with its exuberance, ambitious and surprisingly bawdy humor. For fans of Erasmus, Cervantes, Chaucer and Thomas More. This is where we get our word gargantuan from.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at TCCL

To Top