Gargantua and Pantagruel

Gargantua and Pantagruel

Book - 1994
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf : Distributed by Random House, c1994
ISBN: 9780679431374
0679431373
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: li, 807 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
stlouisck
Sep 13, 2016

Read this in my university literature course - really great dialogic, carnivalesque text. Bakhtin writes about it.

l
lukasevansherman
Mar 23, 2014

It's rare to find a book that is both gleefully scatological and also highly intellectual. Written by a 16th century French monk, "Gargantua and Pantagruel" is a picaresque, satiric book that embraces and mocks everything from religion to humanism to epics. It's a huge, sprawling, baggy book that may lose some readers with its copious allusions (a better annotated edition would be nice), but will win them over with its exuberance, ambitious and surprisingly bawdy humor. For fans of Erasmus, Cervantes, Chaucer and Thomas More. This is where we get our word gargantuan from.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top