Leave Me

Leave Me

Large Print - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
"For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention--meet Maribeth Klein, a harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack. Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: she packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once she gets to where she's going, she sees her life from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to secrets she has been keeping from those she loves, and from herself" --
Publisher: Waterville, Maine :, Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning,, 2016
Edition: Large print edition
ISBN: 9781410491619
1410491617
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: 449 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print,rda

Opinion

From Library Staff

Evocative and captivating, this read is about a woman who abandons her job, husband, and children as the only way to take care of herself. - Haley


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
laurendouglass Feb 03, 2020

This novel has a lot of touchpoints for different folks. Those that are adopted or have adopted others will find resonance in the main character's (Maribeth) issues with intimacy and trust. Anyone who struggles with heart disease or other chronic life threatening illnesses will identify with Maribeth's terror of a relapse and/or death. And any mother, struggling to get through another day, will completely understand when Maribeth grabs her things and leaves home, without saying goodbye to her twin children.

Ultimately, Leave Me is about everyone's fear of abandonment, and how often, we preemptively leave loved ones, jobs, and situations so that we are not left first.

CCPL_Laura Jan 08, 2020

In Gayle Forman’s debut adult novel, the reader is introduced to a hardworking, driven, compassionate character that is equally relatable and sympathetic. Maribeth meets a variety of people in Pittsburgh -- adorably funny college neighbors Todd and Sunny, sweet cardiologist Stephen and his dark history, and enthusiastic birth-mother-hunting Janice – who help her calm down, revitalize, reevaluate, and heal inside and out. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Rainbow Rowell will be drawn to Forman’s raw, honest, and compelling narrative.

JCLMelodyMK Jul 17, 2017

A book that all mothers can identify with to some extent. It tells the story of a woman in her forties with a very busy household. Ends up in the ER with chest paines and a double bypass.
then Marybeth( the mother) begins a journey to a better understanding of herself and her husband.

PimaLib_TeneciaP Jan 12, 2017

This is the first book I have read by this author and I am so happy to have discovered her. As a mom who has joked about "running away", I was intrigued by the character Maribeth and the premise of the story. This was a quick read (I finished it in one day!) and while the ending felt a bit thrown together, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

l
lmdhpl
Dec 14, 2016

I agree about the ending. It did feel off. A very quick read.

b
becker
Nov 30, 2016

The selling point for me in this book was the protagonist. Her decisions and behaviour are questionable but I could really relate to her. I liked her unconditionally. Short compelling chapters make this a fast enjoyable read.

CatherineG_1 Nov 14, 2016

Having read many of Foreman's teenage realistic fiction, this one was a good choice. Maribeth has a demanding job as an editor while also being a mom to twins born through IVF. Ironically, her own mother gave her up for adoption. She goes on a trip of self-discovery after a life changing event. Fast read.

cmlibrary_lmansfield Oct 28, 2016

I enjoyed this book and finished it quickly. A health crisis causes a middle-aged woman to take stock of her life and make some changes. I'm interested to check out other titles by Forman.

I think that for some readers, it may be hard to understand how Maribeth could walk out on her children. However, I appreciate that Forman gives us a character who does just that, and who grapples with that decision, but who also focuses on getting back to herself, instead of just continuing to be miserable and going further into the rut that she's in. While I didn't necessarily relate to the story on a personal level, I found this to be a very readable story with realistic characters, and I liked the focus on family dynamics.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top