Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
1
"A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."—Booklist Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. So when she loses her desk job, she starts her own café and finds life can be tougher, and sweeter, than she ever dreamed.After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe's bakery, Issy has undoubtedly inherited his talent. She's much better at baking than she is at filing so when she's laid off from her desk job, Issy decides to open her own little café. But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake plan will take all of her courage and confectionary talent to avert disaster.Funny and sharp, Meet Me at the Cupcake Café is about how life might not always taste like you expect, but there's always room for dessert!A smart, quirky contemporary cupcake book of recipes and friendship, fans of Sophie Kinsella, X and X will be heading for their mixers to create a story as sweet and complex as Issy's.Other books by Jenny Colgan:Meet Me At The Cupcake Café ? "A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."—Booklist The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris ? A heartwarming and bittersweet story of love lost and foundSweetshop of Dreams ? A charming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself in unexpected places What readers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:"quirky and adorable!""a real guilty pleasure—with a little romance thrown in on the side!""Part Romantic Comedy, part Chick-lit... a charming story""This book is an excellent cupcake: light, full of flavour and with just the right amount of sweetness to make you smile.""smart and funny""this is a definite must read, a real page turner."What reviewers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."—USA Today"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... "—Kirkus"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written."—Fresh Fiction"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"—Silver's ReviewsWhat everyone is saying about Jenny Colgan:"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."—USA Today"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"—Silver's Reviews
Publisher: 2013
ISBN: 9781402281822
9781402281815
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Fiction for Foodies
OWLibrary Mar 25, 2019

Issy has inherited a love and talent for baking from her grandfather and decides to open her own bakery. Filled with delicious recipes, this book is a fun read.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
Gerry_21
Jan 23, 2019

Another nice story from Jenny Colgan, this one set in London. The recipes look good too :-)

l
LauraSteinert
Aug 20, 2018

Until I read this one, I thought Jenny Colgan could do no wrong. This should have been a five hour read--but I just keep setting it aside to do ANYTHING else but finish it. Horrible children, really annoying long passages of describing how fat her friends are, how skinny and sharp-edged the hated Christine is, and pointless endless asides that take the book nowhere, with a long lists of names of characters that never appear after a single mention. Not one person in the book to like except the (Fat) roommate--who is fat, because she eats too much fat making cake, so I get it, Helena is fat. Completely disappointing.

j
jac523
Aug 14, 2018

Another delightful confection from Jenny Colgan! The perfect summer read. Disclaimer: don't read this if you're hungry, you may be compelled to bake!

Super cute British chick lit, with best friends, family troubles, romantic failures and possibilities, and cupcakes. So many cupcakes.

LaughingOne Jun 15, 2014

Unlike in "The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris", the recipes provided in this novel fit; they were appropriate for the storyline. And Issy is a quite likable character, especially once she starts following her own dream. Jenny Colgan brings together a variety of people who don't seem to fit, but they do manage to get along pretty well. There is a cad, of course, who doesn't treat Issy well. But this is a light romance and all ends well.

c
cupcake10
Aug 05, 2013

Great title!

Age

Add Age Suitability
s
souness
Jun 23, 2011

souness thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top