Pachinko

Pachinko

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
11
1
Rate this:
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--
Publisher: New York, NY :, Grand Central Publishing Large Print,, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781455569496
1455569496
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: 746 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
large print,rda

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LPL_KimberlyL Nov 02, 2017

An eye-opening family saga about the treatment of Korean citizens in Japan, and what they must do to overcome extreme hardships and improve their lot in life. The characters in this novel will pull you in and keep you entranced to the final page. At just under 500 pages, this doesn't feel like a overly long book. In fact, I comfortably could have kept reading for several hundred pages more if only to stay with this family for a little bit longer. I'm sad to see them go, but I will definitely re-read this in the future and pick up anything else Min Jin Lee comes out with!

k
kirpet
Sep 22, 2017

I learned a lot about Korea , and the relationship of Koreans with the Japanese after the war. was astonished at the cruelty.

l
lostintheshelves
Sep 21, 2017

This is an old-fashioned family saga; it's long, but full of lovable characters and things happening, which meant I raced through it in seven days despite its length. The author uses the omniscient voice and frequent point-of-view changes so you see the events through many eyes, getting different perspectives on faith, family, racism, sexism, and politics. I loved the setting and a lot of the characters: the resourceful Sunja, the other first-generation immigrants, and a quartet of people who fall in love with family members. As a family saga novel, it's not quite as good as Hala Alyan's Salt Houses but stronger than Elif Shafak's The Bastard of Istanbul; you can see why it's currently in the running for the National Book Award.

t
tstadheim
Sep 05, 2017

I loved learning more about the history of the Korean peninsula. The tale was gripping and I could not put the book down, up until it got into the 1960s or so. After that it seemed to rush through things and not develop the story.

t
Tjad2L
Aug 23, 2017

I love sweeping family sagas and this does not disappoint. But I ended that book about 3/4 of the way through due to the explicit sexual content.

b
brangwinn
Aug 06, 2017

One of my favorite books of 2017. This multigenerational story tells the plight of Koreans living in Japan, pre-World War II to the late 20th century. There’s so much depth in this story about a woman who had an illegitimate child in Korea, married an honorable man who accepts the child as his own and moves them to Japan. Not only are we introduced to Japanese mafia personalities, we see the extreme racism of the Japanese against Koreans, and how the only place Koreans could find success was in running the Pachinko halls. I was left cheering the strength of the Korean women, crying over the treatment of Koreans and amazement at the ability of the Koreans to accept what was happening to them, knowing that returning to Korea wasn’t an option for them.

l
laphampeak
May 07, 2017

The series of events spanned 4 generations and started with a Korean couple whose daughter got pregnant with a wealthy man but married a pastor and went to live in Japan. The last third of the book no longer held the interest I had before which was disappointing. I did, however, find interest overall in the further understanding of the struggle of Koreans living in Japan and how it affected their identity, family ties, marriages, loves and losses.

d
divjain
Apr 26, 2017

An awesome beginning, couldn't keep it down till World war II was over. But after that it just dragged. It is NO WHERE close to Kite Runner. in the later half, it became stagnant and boring.

u
uncommonreader
Mar 25, 2017

This is a family saga covering four generations of an ethnic Korean family in Japan. Pachinko, the Japanese type of pinball machine, serves as a metaphor for fate. An interesting view of the Japanese colonization of Korean and Japanese racism.

m
maven
Mar 12, 2017

The book starts off so wonderfully, drawing you in and making you want to see more of the Kim family. Unfortunately, the lovely writing and intriguing storyline didn't last very long, and started to wane after about 200 pages. The writing style changed so much that it became a pain to read, and all the skipping ahead and lack of character development really became tiring. I really hoped it would improve and tried to keep going, but it just wasn't worth it, so I quit. Very disappointing after such a strong start.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

t
Tjad2L
Aug 23, 2017

Sexual Content: explicit sexual content

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top