City of Buried Ghosts

City of Buried Ghosts

eBook - 2016
Rate this:
Be careful what you dig up ... The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domènech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case. Except it's not new. On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the front of the skull -- an ancient tribal ritual. It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious corpse from the 1980s. Assigned to the case along with her team, Elisenda soon uncovers a complex world of star archaeologists, jealousy and missing persons. They find a dark trade in illicit antiquities, riddled with vicious professional rivalries. And even though she's staying close to the crime scene, Elisenda is also never far from enemies of her own within the police force. Just as the case seems to become clear it is blown wide-open by another horrific murder. Elisenda must fight her personal demons and office politics, whilst continuing to uncover plots and hatreds that were long buried. How far will she go to solve the crime? Is her place in the force secure? And can she rebuild her life? In City of Buried Ghosts Chris Lloyd has written an utterly gripping crime story set in one of the most stunning parts of Europe. With its extraordinary heroine and unputdownable investigation, it is the perfect crime thriller for this summer. Praise for Chris Lloyd: " A very well written and exciting murder mystery that does much more than just tickle your whodunit fancy ... there are twists and turns all over the place. So many characters appear suspicious, and the final revelation of the murderer is a real surprise. This book works on so many levels and I fully recommend it. " Rosemary, Goodreads "I loved the way the modern and the historical/mythic were inextricably entwined in the plot ... Interesting characters, a rich sense of place and history, all tied together with masterful storytelling ... I'm looking forward to the next in the series." Ann, Goodreads "I found this crime debut a thoroughly enjoyable and interesting read. When you finish a book and feel like you've been on holiday, well, surely that's a very good thing indeed." Emma, Goodreads " What a read! I immediately fell in love with Girona, its legends and Elisenda and her team. This fast-paced, complex novel had me from page one and I found myself unable to stop. The issues that the book raises call for a lot of self-questioning. How far would I agree with the actions of the killer? Could I ever agree? An absolute must-read. " LA, customer revie.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] :, Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd,, [2016]
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781910859841
Characteristics: 1 online resource (320 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top