Duncton Wood

Duncton Wood

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
The epic million-copy bestseller, available as an ebook for the first time The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness. When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake's daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins ... Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it's too late? Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For readers of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams' Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit. The Duncton Chronicles Duncton Wood Duncton Quest Duncton Found (ebook coming soon) Praise for Duncton Wood ' An inspiring novel ... An epic in the tradition of The Lord of the Rings ' Sunday Times 'A breathtaking achievement' Washington Post 'A passionate, lyrical, appealing tale ... Consistently absorbing ... Enchanting ' Cosmopolitan 'A great big mole- epic with a great big theme' Daily Mail 'Horwood has placed his astute ear to the ground and fashioned ... a modern masterpiece ... Classic themes of conflict are here, good and evil, love and hate, the clash of traditional and modern values.' Houston Chronicle 'Destined to be a classic ... A beautiful story.' Little Rock Arkansas Gazette 'An earthy epic fantasy ... The themes of power, survival, passion, courage, sacrifice, love and devotion are presented with astonishing clarity.' Los Angeles Times Book Review ' An absolute spell-binder, by Lord of the Rings out of Watership Down. I found it enchanting, compulsive reading ... I am still haunted by its beauty' Magnus Magnusson ' The stuff of legend ... Horwood's natural world is lyrically realised, his mole empire a delight, his romantic tale full of adventure, suspense, battle and searchings ... A rich, cautionary fairy tale.' Publishers Weekly 'More readable and more rewarding than The Lord of the Rings ' The Times 'Special, endearing, successful ... truly touching ... This is a novel for the pure-at-heart and slightly naive, for the childishness in the weary, and the children we should be having ... Allegorically fabulous.' Village Voice ' Luxuriantly written ... richly drawn, painting a detailed and loving panorama.' Associated Pres.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] :, Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd,, [2017]
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781911420521
Characteristics: 1 online resource (750 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Summary

Add a Summary

FavouriteFiction Sep 30, 2009

Duncton Wood is home to a civilization of moles ruled by the tyrant Mandrake. With the love of Rebecca, young mole Bracken seeks to revive the ancient beliefs and find the sacred Seventh Stillstone, thereby freeing his people

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top