Orphan Island

Orphan Island

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
"A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true." —Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the MoonFor readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them—and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.Today's Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny's best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now—to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they've always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back—and take her away forever from the only home she's known?
Publisher: [S.l.] : HarperCollins, 2017
ISBN: 9780062443434
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: 3M Cloud Library

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

KCLS_RobinH Dec 04, 2017

This is a weird book, with an angsty protagonist who is difficult to like. I'd dub this 'Lost' for kids, but with a bit less violence, and all of the weird magic and lack of explanation for the premise.

i
indigo_bear_266
Nov 14, 2017

I enjoyed this book but the end was really confusing and that is why my rating is 3 stars, but i like the simplicity as well as the characters. over all, this was a really good book

b
bibliomum
Oct 27, 2017

A very interesting story, but a bit slow for me to give it more than 3 stars. I was left with a lot of unanswered questions.

LPL_PolliK Sep 26, 2017

Currently long-listed for the National Book Award! Smart, compelling and deep fiction that happens to be classed in juvenile, but is a great read for everyone. On a beautiful island where one child is delivered each year while the eldest is taken away, nine children happily live under the leadership of new elder Jinny, who trains the latest newcomer and wonders what will happen when her own departure occurs. Thoughtful and beautiful, Synder's novel will become a classic.

m
Mrsdoody
Sep 16, 2017

This book is on several 2018 Newbery watch lists. I thought it was very interesting, but the ending is a cliff hanger. Will their be a sequel?

CRRLKids Aug 03, 2017

This book was a surprisingly different approach to a coming of age novel for 4th-5th grade girls. Although the pace of the book was a bit slow through the first half, young readers could really connect with Jinny's feelings and inner turmoil as the book progressed. Growing up on a orphan island and having to make the choice to leave the island or not when the time comes and to deal with the repercussions is parallel to a lot of early adolescent choices young readers might face. Make sure your reader is mature enough to handle discussions of physical adolescent developmental changes. Many questions remain unanswered, so a sequel is a must!

Cynthia_N May 24, 2017

Such an interesting concept! Nine orphans live alone on an island. They are safe, happy, and healthy. Once a year an unmanned boat comes and brings a new youngest child and takes the oldest child. The new oldest child is then in charge of training and caring for the youngest. Something changes and suddenly the island isn't as friendly and safe anymore. I hope there is a following to book to answer all the questions raised in this one!!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top