The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
159
7
6
 …
"It isn't paranoia if it's really happening ... Anna Fox lives alone -- a recluse in her New York City home, drinking too much wine, watching old movies ... and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move next door: a father, a mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble -- and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this gripping Hitchcockian thriller, no one and nothing are what they seem."--
Publisher: New York, NY :, William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,, [2018]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062678416
0062678418
Branch Call Number: Fiction
Characteristics: 427 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A psychological thriller that feels reminiscent of classic domestic film noir. It's perfect for fans of Alfred Hitchcock. It's suspenseful and well-written, with a twist I did not see coming--and I almost always see it coming! The main character is flawed and relatable, and the plot is believable... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Lovestoread5 Oct 17, 2020

Fantastic thriller! I highly recommend. Hitchcock-esq at it best! I thought the ending might've been a film-noir type, (where nobody wins in the end) but it was a thrilling ending!

a
alanisjadem
Sep 27, 2020

That was twisted and i loved it!

k
KathyAG
Sep 24, 2020

The book has short chapters. About 25% in I had to force myself to keep reading. When you get to the halfway point it gets more interesting. It is an ok book.

r
RubyHocker
Sep 07, 2020

The story had a lot of potential but the writing was very repetitive. It's another mystery with an alcoholic protagonist and the author kind of stalls with constant descriptions of her drinking. If you like this style, then it's a good read but I find it overdone.

m
mroufael
Aug 17, 2020

The plot was good! The book however was just lingering. It was definitely not a page turner for me

j
jelianm
Aug 14, 2020

I loved this book! I could actually see the scenes and dialogue as something out of a movie play out in my head as I was reading - really descriptive read! The twist I also did not see coming at all. I had predicted something else but definitely did not see the actual twist coming, and then the reveals just kept coming. I gasped so many times while uncovering them all haha! Highly recommend. Will be reading more novels from this author in the future. Great read!

e
ekgiildenzopf
Aug 05, 2020

FAVORITE LIST

l
lorraineacasas
Jul 31, 2020

It took me a while to get into this book - put it down for a month and a half (+it put me into a reading slump)! I didn’t get into it until about 200 pages in (496pg paperback copy). I thought it was a page-turner from that point. Yet, the ending/big reveal I thought to be cheesy. Probably not one I’d recommend!

i
itzcj
Jul 27, 2020

Easy, quick, read. Chapters are short. Great ending!

a
Anika_Singh
Jul 10, 2020

Anna Fox is agoraphobic, she has a fear of going outside, and she loves to sit by her window and see what her neighbors are up to. Her days are rather boring until Anna sees something she wasn’t supposed to and her life changes completely.

This thrilling story really kept me on the edge of my seat. Really unpredictable and exciting! It may be underwhelming at first but as the plot builds this book gets impossible to put down. I would definitely recommend this book.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
Anika_Singh
Jul 10, 2020

Anika_Singh thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

e
elisabeth_23
Apr 22, 2020

elisabeth_23 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

Mrs157 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

jessebraydon Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top