Furyborn

Furyborn

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8
4
Rielle may prove to be one of the Prophesized Queens, if she survives the trials, and a thousand years later bounty hunter Eliana helps a girl who could be the answer to the prophecy.
Publisher: Naperville, Illinois :, Sourcebooks Fire,, [2018]
ISBN: 9781492656623
1492656623
Branch Call Number: Y SF
Characteristics: 501 pages : map ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Fury born

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

I loved this story. The world is rich and complex, and this book only scratched the surface of an intricate mythology hinted at. The characters are multi-dimensional and believable. The two leads are badass yet jarringly imperfect, which is much more interesting than a stereotypical young-adult female lead. I love the way the book is formatted, with the two leads from different times splitting focus. It is so much fun to try to piece together how the events Rielle's time affect and are remembered in Eliana's. While the book does rely on many common young-adult fiction tropes, it is still enjoyable and has its own share of surprises. Fans of The Hunger Games and Song of Ice and Fire series will love this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out.

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

Lots of magic and intrigue as well as a gorgeous cover are sure to draw readers into this story.

v
violet_dog_6087
Jun 30, 2018

Though I am not normally into fantasy I found myself immersed in a brilliantly written action packed world where the heroines were daunting and empowering. I loved this book and would definitely recommend it!!

p
pvessa
Jun 08, 2018

Not appropriate for young people. This should not have been classified as YA. Both heroines kill without remorse. One heroine is an assassin with multiple lovers of both sexes, prostitution, children in brothels, violence, and sex. I don't want my teens reading the series.

z
zebarnetts
May 23, 2018

I'll give it to the author, this book had so much potential! The premise was really intriguing, something I've never really seen before in YA, but when the book played out it really fell flat for me. I lost interest about 60% in. Legrand tries so hard to make a complex and compelling plot, with characters that should fit right in, but they ended up feeling stale, recycled and two-dimensional. Even though this is only the first book in the trilogy, I had so many questions that seemed crucial to the plot that the author left completely unanswered, such as how any of the elemental magic works, or about the motives of the Angels. Overall it was really confusing, it felt very rushed, and there weren't that many memorable characters, as most of them fell into stereotypical typecasts of YA. Here's hoping Legrand will redeem herself in the next book.

d
darladoodles
May 08, 2018

For me this one did not live up to the hype. I found myself wanting this one to be over rather than savoring the story. The parallel narratives were too disjointed for me to see the characters connecting even when we find out the true link between them. Plus the backstory is out there lurking, unexplained. Most especially -- the Angels. Are they all bad? Are some good? How much time has elapsed from the prologue to Eliana's story? In the end, I am fine to leave this as a standalone and invest my time in other books/series in the future.

m
mdprier
May 03, 2018

The title of the book is Furyborn, but the title in the online list is Furborn.

OPL_AmyW Apr 13, 2018

A promising debut for a new, YA fantasy trilogy with fast-pacing, appealing characters, and an intriguing (if not fully explained) source of magic. Fantasy readers will quickly see the connection between the two main characters, and the rapid jumps between those two women with each chapter may be jarring at first. However, readers will soon settle in to enjoy the parallel stories.

Age

Add Age Suitability

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

readfox thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

ArapahoeKelsey Jul 10, 2018

ArapahoeKelsey thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

z
zebarnetts
May 24, 2018

zebarnetts thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top