Select language, opens an overlay
The Perfect Escape

The Perfect Escape

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Love is a battlefield in this hysterical rom-com debut, perfect for fans of Jenny Han. Nate Jae-Woo Kim wants to be rich. When one of his classmates offers Nate a ridiculous amount of money to commit grade fraud, he knows that taking the windfall would help support his prideful Korean family, but is compromising his integrity worth it? Kate Anderson wants a fresh start, away from her controlling father. She fantasizes about escaping to New York, where she can pursue her dreams. But how can Kate get there when she can't even buy dinner without his approval? Worlds collide when Nate and Kate meet at the zombie-themed escape room where they both work. As sparks fly, fate steps in: a local tech company is hosting a weekend-long survivalist competition with a huge cash prize that could solve all their problems. The real challenge? Making it through the weekend with their hearts intact...
Publisher: [United States] :, Sourcebooks Inc,, 2020
ISBN: 9781728209401
1728209404
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mitanline
Jul 28, 2020

The YA rom-com book is a cutely crafted book, the protagonists, Nate and Kate meet for the first time at their part-time job (an escape room). They bond over zombies (definitely an unlikely topic but that’s what I love about it) its not a standard topic but that’s what makes this unique! They team up together to participate in a competition to win the prize money. Nate wishes to get the money for his family and Kate needs the money to move out on her own. I love the fact that there are two perspectives throughout the story as well as the diverse backgrounds the protagonists had. The book perfectly depicts what it's like to have a crush, being awkward even if you’re not, overthinking the simplest of things, and feeling jealous. Most books make it seem like teenagers are composed and have their feelings and interactions sorted out but that’s not realistic, the author does a great job of showing that through their writing! I absolutely loved the fact that there were pop culture references throughout the book. It's a great book to read over the weekend if you’re up for some cute, nerdy romcom!

a
AConsolver
May 14, 2020

3 Stars - I might recommend if you enjoy quirky YA.

Nate is a super smart, super active, very quirky teenager who wishes he could be as affluent as his school mates. Kate lives in a smart house, with a tech giant dad, who is never home. When the two meet working at a zombie escape room, Kate suggests they team up for a weekend survivalist competition (complete with zombies) and split the cash prize.

This was such a fun debut novel with a quirky premise. I loved how Nate and Kate meet working in a zombie escape room and how they bond over their love of zombies. I would have liked to see more of the actual escape room throughout the book! I enjoyed the peek into their home and school lives too, though I admit that the middle portion of the book was a little bit long for me. The competition was fun and different to read. I enjoyed the action and survival elements. The ending was really really sweet and left me feeling fuzzy. My biggest let down was the girl on girl hate. It happens so often in many genres, but I’m over it. I want to see more women supporting each other. Fewer women fighting against each other for men. All that aside this was a very sweet and quirky debut novel and I’d recommend it if it sounds like your thing. Excited to read more from Suzanne Park in the future!

d
darladoodles
Mar 30, 2020

Is it just me, or did the rest of you have that song by the Cranberries "in your head" after reading this new YA rom-com? The narrative is split into two POVs: one for Nate and one for Kate. They meet while working part-time jobs at a zombie escape room, which to me sounds too stressful to be fun. Both feel trapped by some aspect of their lives and decide that the prize from an upcoming survivalist event will provide the cash they need to achieve their goals. Their budding romance is sweet and comical at times. Nate's family is endearing while Kate's family situation is appalling. I would have liked to see more attention given to their preparation for the big competition. It also seemed like the event itself was at times strangely drawn out and at other times rushed. I did get some "Hunger Games" vibes and would also recommend to fans of "Frankly In Love." I am invested enough to look for the sequel.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top